The Nonprofit AI Almanac

AI enablement terms

Prepared 2026-10-09. Prices verified 2026-10-07 to 2026-10-08. From The Nonprofit AI Almanac.

Print double-sided for one sheet (two sides): terms on the front, costs on the back.

Please note: This site is only a guide to help people understand. Consult your IT, security and/or privacy department for clarification.

AI model
The computer program behind an AI tool. It learned patterns from a huge amount of writing and other material, and it uses those patterns to answer you.
Prompt
The instructions or question you type to the AI. A clear prompt with some background usually gets a more useful answer.
Token
A small chunk of text, often a short word or part of a longer word, that the AI reads and writes. Tools often count and price their usage in tokens.
Hallucination
When an AI states something that sounds confident but is wrong or made up, such as a fake statistic or a source that does not exist. Always check facts, names and numbers before you use them.
Training data
The writing, images and other material a model learned from, and, depending on the product and your settings, possibly what people type in later.
Retention
How long a company keeps your information before it deletes it. Some tools keep chats for a set number of days, and some let you choose.
Opt-out
A setting or request that lets you say no to something. Here it usually means asking that your chats not be used to improve the AI.
Anonymization
Changing information so that no one can work out who it is about, even by combining clues. Removing names alone is not enough.
PII
Personally identifiable information: details that point to a specific person, like a name with an address. Leave it out of a prompt. Ask your privacy contact before using it in any tool, even an approved one.
API
A way for one computer program to talk to another. Companies use an API to build the AI into their own software, instead of typing into a chat window.
Open-weight model
An AI model whose inner settings (called weights) are shared publicly, so anyone can download it and run it on their own computers. Whoever runs it is responsible for keeping it secure.
Enterprise tier
The top paid plan, made for large groups. It usually adds admin controls, extra security features and special contract terms, and it costs more.
SOC 2
A security report. An outside auditor checks a company's habits for protecting customer data and writes up what they found. A Type I report checks whether the controls are designed well, as of one date. A Type II report also tests whether they actually worked throughout a stated period of time. Having one is a good sign, but it does not mean nothing can go wrong.
ISO/IEC 27001
An international standard for running an information security management system: the policies, people and tools a company uses to manage risks to its data. An outside certification body, not ISO itself, can certify a company against it. Each certificate covers a stated scope.
HIPAA
A US law that protects health information held by health plans, health care clearinghouses and health care providers that bill electronically ("covered entities"), and by their "business associates". If your organization is neither, the HIPAA rules do not apply to it, though other laws may.
GDPR
The General Data Protection Regulation, the EU's main data protection law. It can also apply to organizations outside the EU that offer goods or services to people in the EU, or monitor their behaviour there.
Human in the loop
A way of working where a person checks and approves what an AI tool produces before anyone relies on it.

What AI tools cost (per person, per month)

Cost per person, per month. Chart made 2026-10-09. Prices verified 2026-10-07 to 2026-10-08.
ToolOptionPer person, per monthBillingChecked
ClaudeStandard team seat (list price)$25MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Claude, Standard team seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
ClaudeNonprofit pricing, Team plan$8Not statedPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Claude, Nonprofit pricing, Team plan (opens in a new tab)
ChatGPTStandard team seat (list price)$25MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for ChatGPT, Standard team seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
ChatGPTNonprofit pricing, Business standard seats$10MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for ChatGPT, Nonprofit pricing, Business standard seats (opens in a new tab)
GeminiStandard team seat (list price)$14MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Gemini, Standard team seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
GeminiGoogle Workspace for Nonprofits$0Not statedPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Gemini, Google Workspace for Nonprofits (opens in a new tab)
GeminiBusiness Standard, nonprofit price$4.20MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Gemini, Business Standard, nonprofit price (opens in a new tab)
GrokStandard team seat (list price)$30Not statedPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Grok, Standard team seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
GrokNonprofit offerNo price to showNot found in reviewed sources: A nonprofit program or discountn/aChecked 2026-10-07 Source for Grok, Nonprofit offer (opens in a new tab)
LlamaPer-person priceNo price to showDoes not apply: hosts bill by how much text is processed, not per person.n/aChecked 2026-10-07 Source for Llama, Per-person price (opens in a new tab)
LlamaAWS Nonprofit Credit ProgramNo price to showFrom the host: Amazon Web Services (Amazon Bedrock). Eligible nonprofits can get up to $5,000 in AWS credit per year, distributed through TechSoup. This is a credit from the host, not a per-person price.n/aPrices verified 2026-10-07 Source for Llama, AWS Nonprofit Credit Program (opens in a new tab)
Microsoft CopilotStandard team seat (list price)$28.20The high end is the Business Standard with Copilot bundle ($28.20 a month on a monthly subscription). The Copilot add-on alone is $25.20 a month and requires a separate qualifying Microsoft 365 plan.MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Microsoft Copilot, Standard team seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
Microsoft CopilotNonprofit pricing, Microsoft 365 Copilot$25.50YearlyPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Microsoft Copilot, Nonprofit pricing, Microsoft 365 Copilot (opens in a new tab)
Microsoft CopilotNonprofit pricing, Microsoft 365 Business Premium$5.50YearlyPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Microsoft Copilot, Nonprofit pricing, Microsoft 365 Business Premium (opens in a new tab)
Microsoft CopilotNonprofit grant, Microsoft 365 Business BasicNo price to showUp to 300 granted (free) licenses of Microsoft 365 Business Basic, plus discounts of up to 75% on many Microsoft 365 offers. The page says the Office 365 E1 grant and the Microsoft 365 Business Premium grant have been discontinued; existing grant licenses expire at the next renewal date.n/aPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Microsoft Copilot, Nonprofit grant, Microsoft 365 Business Basic (opens in a new tab)
PerplexityEnterprise Pro seat (list price)$40Not found in reviewed sources: The Perplexity Pro list price billed monthly.MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Perplexity, Enterprise Pro seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
PerplexityNonprofit pricing, Enterprise Pro$30MonthlyPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Perplexity, Nonprofit pricing, Enterprise Pro (opens in a new tab)
Mistral Le ChatStandard team seat (list price)$24.99Mistral's pricing page shows "/mo" and "/user/mo" but does not say whether these prices are for monthly or annual billing.Not statedPrices verified 2026-10-08 Source for Mistral Le Chat, Standard team seat (list price) (opens in a new tab)
Mistral Le ChatNonprofit offerNo price to showNot found in reviewed sources: A nonprofit program, grant, discount or creditn/aChecked 2026-10-08 Source for Mistral Le Chat, Nonprofit offer (opens in a new tab)
GivebutterPer-person priceNo price to showDoes not apply: this tool is not priced per person.n/aChecked 2026-10-08 Source for Givebutter, Per-person price (opens in a new tab)
GivebutterNonprofit offerNo price to showDoes not apply: A separate nonprofit discount.n/aChecked 2026-10-08 Source for Givebutter, Nonprofit offer (opens in a new tab)
GrantablePer-person priceNo price to showDoes not apply: this tool is not priced per person.n/aChecked 2026-10-08 Source for Grantable, Per-person price (opens in a new tab)
GrantableNonprofit offerNo price to showNot found in reviewed sources: The amount, conditions and verification of a nonprofit discountn/aChecked 2026-10-08 Source for Grantable, Nonprofit offer (opens in a new tab)

Full chart with sources: the "Costs" page of this guide (/tools/cost). Every row links to its source there. Estimate, not a quote. No tool is ranked or recommended. Check each source before you decide.